Winners named in 3rd Annual JAPC

Winners named in 3rd Annual JAPC

The Third Annual Junior Artist Piano Competition took place at SCGSAH on October 24, 2015. Sponsored by the Bichel Foundation and supported by the Governor's School for the Arts Foundation, the event featured 18 talented competitors from across the South Carolina in grades 7 - 10 who competed for cash awards totaling more than $2,500.

First prize went to Anthony Androulakis from Columbia. A student of Alan Weinberg, he won First Place trophy and a $1,500 cash award.

Simeon Radev from Orangeburg, a student of Alan Weinberg, won second prize and a $750 cash award.

John Wang from Central, a student of Kuo-Pei Cheng-Lin, won third prize and a $400 cash award.

Two students received Honorable Mentions:
Catherine Black from Lexington and student of Ann Wilson

Jay Baek from Mount Pleasant and student of Irina Pevzner
The judges for this year's competition were Dr. Rosalyn W. Floyd (Augusta University in Augusta, GA), Dr. Kent Lyman (Meredith College in Raleigh, NC), and Dr. Martha Thomas (University of Georgia in Athens).