12 students named Young Arts winners

12 students named Young Arts winners

2015 National YoungArts Foundation winners


Twelve students from the South Carolina Governor’s School for the Arts and Humanities (SCGSAH) were named 2015 National Young Arts Foundation winners. 


The students who earned the honor are:

Creative Writing:
Ian Burnett (2014)

Cu Fleshman (two categories, 2014)

Kathleen Herbst

Gabriella Lott

Kendall Neubeiser

Summer Standiford



Griffin Binnicker

Noah McGill 

Griffen Poore



Laura Lynn Brickle

Chandler Brown 

Justin Trout 


Since 1981, the National YoungArts Foundation has been recognizing and supporting the nation’s most talented 15-18 year-olds in the areas of visual, literary and performing arts from throughout the United States. The twelve students from SCGSAH who were selected join a talented pool of 786 emerging artists chosen from more than 11,000 applications submitted. 


Today, YoungArts alumni are among some of the biggest names in arts and entertainment including. SCGSAH winners are now in the company of actresses Vanessa Williams and Kerry Washington, Tony Award nominee Raul Esparza, Executive Director of American Ballet Theatre Rachel Moore, recording artists Nicki Minaj and Chris Young, violinist Jennifer Koh, choreographer Desmond Richardson and multimedia artist Doug Aitken.